Golden Ear Awards 2009

February 16th, 2010

Just got back from the annual Earshot Jazz Golden Ear Awards and it was a blast to see how the jazz community in Seattle comes together like this every year. Old friends and new together again. Here are a few of the award winners tonight. I will post some more later in the week.

All photographs on this website are by Daniel Sheehan © 2010. All Rights Reserved. Please inquire for permission to use.

Kimberly Reason, Kay Bailey and Karen Shivers, accepted their award for Earshot Jazz’s prestigious Golden Ear Award for 2009 Northwest Vocalist of the Year for their group COCOA MARTINI and they thanked everyone including the members of their group, Bill Anschell on piano, Bernie Jacobs on flute and tenor saxophone, Doug Miller on bass, and Greg Williamson on drums.

Evan Flory-Barnes, Josh Rawlings and Jeremy Jones here accept the 2009 NW Acoustic Jazz Group Award for their group The Teaching

Evan Flory-Barnes was back up soon after to receive the award for 2009 NW Jazz Concert of the Year for his “Acknowledgment of a Celebration,” Town Hall, Earshot Jazz Festival, November 8

Neil Welch and Chris Icasiano won 2009 NW Alternative Jazz Group for Duo

Eric Barber took the 2009 NW Instrumentalist of the Year Golden Ear Award for his performances on saxophones.

Andy Clausen & Sjenka won 2009 NW Emerging Artist or Group

Last, but not least, Marc Seales received  the 2009 Jazz Hall of Fame award from fellow University of Washington faculty member Coung Vu.

More pictures from the evening later.

Leave a Reply